The Difficulty In Writing

The difficulty I have in writing a blog like this, a blog in which I share my inner thoughts, is that I often see one thought, concept, or experience as connected to many others. If I write about one thought, there are many connected thoughts that I am not writing about, which are important to understanding the context.

It’s like this: If someone were to ask me to write a report about life on a particular island, many aspects of the island are interconnected. I could write about its geography, geology, animal life, plant life, history (including the history of other countries that affect the island), religion, culture, architecture, art, food, economy, marine life surrounding the island, and so on. It’s impossible to write about all of them, but leaving one out leaves out an aspect that affects and influences life on the island.

Likewise, if someone were to ask me to explain “love,” I could write about what love is and what it isn’t, as well as mercy, grace, compassion, accountability, judgment, justice–and probably more than those I’ve listed. Each one is an important part of love. A person might think that judgment and justice are the opposite of love, but I don’t believe that is true. True love brings justice (which includes judgment) to the victim that is harmed and holds the guilty one accountable–but that’s a topic to attempt to write about another day.

Anything I write has background, questions, different perspectives, and connections to many other thoughts and experiences. If I am writing about one, I’m not writing about all the others that are just as important and which might provide needed context. I could easily get bogged down in explaining backstory and not get to the topic that I intended to write about. Sometimes I get so overwhelmed by these connections that I put it aside until I figure out a way to write about it.

I just want you to know this.

What do you think?