Rainbows & Shopping

Last week the weather was very summer-like, with sunny skies and temperatures in the high 70’s and low 80’s. This is VERY unusual for March, and many temperature records have been broken. With the warm temperatures, the world is becoming greener as the leaves come out on the trees. The fruit trees are blossoming and the daffodils are blooming. It was so nice last week that I took my laptop out on the front porch each day to study Hebrew with my friend in Texas.

It has rained for the last three days. On Thursday evening, after a day of rain, the sun came out, and I said to JJ, “I bet there is a rainbow!” I went outside and, sure enough, there was a beautiful double rainbow. (The second rainbow can be faintly seen above the first rainbow in this picture. Click on the picture to get a larger view.) The picture doesn’t show it, but the colors were extremely vivid. As JJ and I looked at the rainbow, I said, “Just think: At this very moment, God is also looking at this rainbow and remembering His promise.” Of course, God is always looking at everything all the time, but this is such a tangible reminder that He is looking at the same thing I am looking at that it fills me with awe.

I set my rainbow in the cloud, and it will be for a sign of a covenant between me and the earth. It will happen, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the rainbow will be seen in the cloud, and I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh, and the waters will no more become a flood to destroy all flesh. The rainbow will be in the cloud. I will look at it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.” God said to Noah, “This is the token of the covenant which I have established between me and all flesh that is on the earth.”

With the rain, cooler temperatures have come back. The meteorologists are predicting overnight temperatures in the low 30s or even high 20s this week. I hope that doesn’t harm the blossoms and blooms.

Yesterday morning EJ and I drove to the next town to refill our water jugs, as well as buy a few items from the grocery store. We bought organic cauliflower because I want to try to make cauliflower potatoes because EJ can only have a half of a potato at meals. I also bought some strawberries for our healthy Kefir smoothie that we drink every day now. We are trying to eat more healthy these days.

We drove back home and JJ helped unload the car. JJ needed the car to drive to his friend’s house to work on a Boy Scout merit badge with him, so EJ and I took the truck and drove to a small family market that sells items that grocery stores pulled from their shelves but which are still good. My sister used to work for a Reclamation Center. Stores would pull items that sat too long on their shelves and the send them to the Reclamation Center, which would sort through the items and send them back to the manufacturers, to charity organizations, or sell them at discount to little farm markets like the one we go to. The market buys truck loads of such items. There are some items that are constant, but other times we find surprises. We buy items like expensive (and still good) organic coffee that we couldn’t afford at the grocery store at vastly reduced prices. We buy a lot and put it in our freezer. Yesterday I found 1 liter bottles of Extra Virgin Olive Oil and bought six bottles. We could not afford Extra Virgin Olive Oil in the grocery store.

After the farm market, we drove to a meat market, and bought 20 lbs of beef. We are trying to choose healthier sources of food than what we can find in the grocery stores.

After we got home, got everything unloaded, finished eating and cleaning up, I sat on the couch and studied Hebrew with my friend in Texas.

It was a fun day.

What do you think?

