Overnight Changes

Life sure changes fast. It goes from “not much happening” to “Wow!” within minutes.

My Hebrew study partner and I thought we’d start teaching an online Hebrew class together. We are still learning Hebrew, but we know enough now to teach people who are just learning. We invited people to learn Hebrew on our Facebook pages, and immediately got enough–and more than enough–interested people to fill a class. It was amazing. We will be starting April 1. Then the teacher of our class is going through a difficult time so she asked my friend and me to teach our class and another Hebrew class that she is teaching. So we went immediately from being students to teaching 3 Hebrew classes. Yikes!

Order of the Arrow

Image via Wikipedia

Then….JJ has become friends with some of his fellow Order of the Arrow members. Order of the Arrow is a Boy Scout Honor Society. Through them, he met a girl. They haven’t yet met in person, but have FB chatted, phone texted, and video-chatted for hours over the last couple weeks. Yesterday she invited him to her Prom. So now we have to decide whether or not to let him go. On the one hand, I’ve heard a lot of bad things about the Prom (drinking, drunk driving, loss of virginity) and I don’t want my son to be in danger. On the other hand, the girl seems delightful and both she and JJ promise to be careful, alert, and leave if anything looks bad. She emailed me today:

Dear Mrs. JJ’s Mom,

You seem like a really awesome and cool lady, and you should let me go to prom with your son. Nothing will happen except he will actually “learn” to dance. The other kids are stupid, but that’s why I don’t associate with them, I hang out with my musical friends, and church friends who have a good head on their shoulders, and are smart enough to stay away from bad things. I’m not positive that death eaters come out on prom night, and goodness gracious… if the twilight jerks showed up, I’d leave, because I dispise the lack of creative word choice in those books. If I haven’t convinced you yet, I will say that I take ballet lessons, and jazz dance lessons, and that I know how to waltz, so there will be at least some decent dancing going on.

Yours respectfully, S

So I go back and forth, back and forth. It sure isn’t easy to be a Mom. Sigh. What should I do?

What do you think?

