Walking the Cat

Every day after my husband goes to work, I take my dog Danny for a walk. It is the highlight of his day, and he gets really excited when EJ walks out the door and I start getting on my boots and coat. We always take the same route every day–about six blocks. Danny knows the route and if I take a different turn, he tries to pull me on the “correct” course. Today’s walk was a bit out of the ordinary. Two of our cats are outside cats–because they refuse to use the litter box. Today, one of the cats, Rikki-Tikki-Tabby (Rikki for short) decided to accompany us on our walk. Our cats–both the outdoor ones and the indoor ones–follow us all the time. That is nothing usual. It’s like they can’t stand to be away from us for any length of time. Rikki has followed me before, but usually he turns back at a certain point. Today, however, he didn’t turn back, so about half way through our walk I turned around and headed back toward home. I didn’t want Rikki to get out near the main road or to get too tired. Turning back upset Danny a bit because he loves his routine. He kept racing around, trying to get me back on course. We all did make it home again. I think it must be a funny sight to see a woman walking a dog and being followed by a cat, so I took a picture with my phone. It’s not a good picture because I had to hold the phone and Danny’s leash, and  every time I got what WOULD have been a good picture, they moved before the camera clicked. But here is the best I was able to get:

I am taking a short break after completing my daily tasks. This evening JJ has his second Boy Scout Order of the Arrow meeting. His Scoutmaster is taking him, but I have to go along as a chaperone. For the protection of both, no scout can be alone with a scout leader. I’m neither of Boy Scout nor a leader, and I don’t know anyone there except JJ and the Scoutmaster so I’m sort of out of place at the meetings, but last time I spent my time waiting for the meeting to get over by studying my Hebrew vocabulary cards so it was good. This meeting will apparently be different because it is the last meeting before Christmas and they have sort of a party afterwards so I made oatmeal cookies this morning to take. EJ, JJ, and I ate four or five each. We had to test them, you know, to see if they were good enough to take to the meeting…

3 thoughts on “Walking the Cat

  1. theWomanAtTheWell says:

    Today is my daughter’s 8th B-day, her golden b-day as she calls it..lol. She will be happy to see more of your kitty pics, she loved the christmas tree ones! Good post thanks TJ.-WATW

  2. TJ says:

    Tell your daughter HAPPY BIRTHDAY from me!

  3. […] Walking the Cat (kingdaughter.wordpress.com) Rate this: Share this:EmailDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

What do you think?

