Through a Microscope

Today is what we call a “Two Pot Day”–a day when one pot of coffee is NOT ENOUGH to get us awake and motivated.

Yesterday morning I was awake at 5 a.m. because of restless cats. Usually my alarm goes off at 6:30 a.m. We drove 90 miles to visit EJ’s Mom and sister, who live together. We enjoyed the drive there, and had a good visit. We took our dog Danny with us, tying him outside when we got there because he was rather too excited to be around EJ’s fragile mother. Danny hated being outside because he is totally an inside dog, and he is rarely separated from us when we are home. After a couple hours, I let Danny inside and he stuck closer to me then glue, constantly nudging my hand to pet him.

We got home about 7 p.m. I made popcorn and we relaxed a bit, and then I had my Hebrew class at 10 p.m. We had a substitute teacher, which was interesting because she brought out different things in a different way. However, my friend and I have struggled with feminine verbs because our teacher tells us to pronounce them one way, but others say to pronounce them another. Our sub said to pronounce the words different than the teacher so…

After Hebrew class, I stayed up with EJ until 1:30 a.m. and searched the Internet trying to find out how to pronounced those troublesome Hebrew words. EJ works second shift so he’s used to staying up later in the night and waking up later in the day, while I get up earlier in the morning and go to bed earlier in the evening. Sometimes EJ gets lonely in the night when he’s awake and JJ and I are in bed, so I stay up with him to keep him company–and because I enjoy his company. But, oh, 6:30 a.m. comes MUCH too early, which is why this has been a Two Pot Day.

JJ and I started school early today so we got finished early, and I was able to get to the laundromat early and not feel rushed to fix lunch. It felt more relaxed. I don’t mind going to the laundromat because it only takes 30 minutes, and it’s quiet, and I sit and read a book while I’m there. (Although today I had to walk across the street to the bank to get $10 of quarters because the change machine at the laundromat kept rejecting my $10 bill.) It’s the lugging the heavy baskets of clothes that is a bit difficult. But I get  JJ to help load and unload the baskets into/out of the car at home, which helps.

This afternoon my friend CE and I met on Google+ to study Hebrew together. We discussed the troublesome Hebrew words. Then a man from the Hebrew group joined us. CC has studied Hebrew with major Hebrew scholars and has been to Israel many times, so we asked him our questions and he really helped us. He said we could ask him any questions we have and he’d help us if he could. We all got to talking about the beauty of the Hebrew language. He said that a lot of people don’t think Hebrew is important to learn–even seminaries don’t usually require learning it and/or don’t teach it well. A rabbi once told CC that CC knows more Hebrew than he does.

I think Hebrew is like looking through a microscope at common everyday items. We bought a microscrope for homeschool when JJ was younger, and I loved looking through it more than he did. It fascinated me. I thought I knew what common items such as jeans looked like, or paper, or a mosquitos wing–doesn’t everyone?–but looking through the microscope revealed a whole new alien landscape that I never knew existed.

For example, you know what a tongue looks like, right? But look at it through a microscope. It looks TOTALLY different even though it’s still a tongue:

Here is a piece of paper:

This is a Monarch Butterfly’s wing:

Doesn’t that just make you gasp with awe? I look at these things and think, “I thought I knew what they looked like, but when I look deeper, it opens up a depth of strange beauty I never knew existed.” It’s not that what I saw before is exactly false, but there’s so much more than what I could see with my eyes. That is what Hebrew is like to me. I thought I knew what the Bible said, but when I look at it through a Hebrew lens, it makes me gasp with its deep beauty and profound meaning–and I find that some things aren’t what I thought I knew. The deeper I look, the more I see, and the more awesome and beautiful and strange it becomes. Occasionally I try to describe to others some of the awesome things I’ve discovered in the Bible, but it’s like trying to describe to someone what a tongue, or piece of paper, or butterfly wing looks like under a microscope. You just can’t describe it adequately–and, to be honest, some people don’t WANT to see.

In our Google+ conversation, I mentioned that when I’ve tried to explain what I am learning, many Christians don’t get it, or they think I’m becoming Jewish, or they feel threatened that I am doing something “different, even though I’m not condemning them. CC said there are MANY people like CE and I who are learning about Hebrew and Hebrew roots and not fitting in with other Christians. He said his goal is to start connecting people like us together so we can support each other and learn from each other. Then he described an on-line Hebrew Biblical Studies class he is teaching every two weeks. He isn’t teaching the language of Hebrew–the alphabet and grammar–but the meaning of the words in the Bible. Things like what the word “know” or “peace” or “discipleship” means in Hebrew. The class sounded so awesome that I asked if we could join. Would you believe he has two spots left in his on-line class? I said, “Save those spots for US!” and he signed us up, and now I am going to be learning more.

It amazes me how one opportunity can lead to another and to another…Reading a series of historical novels about Jesus’ life (A.D. Chronicles by Brock and Bodie Thoene) caused me to want to learn Hebrew, which led me to the Hebrew4christian website, which enabled me to meet my friend CE, who invited me to the Hebrew group, where I met CC, and I am now enrolled in his class also. Who knows where this will lead me?

Life is interesting.

2 thoughts on “Through a Microscope

  1. thewomanatthewell says:

    I rather think you look at people the same way TJ, most see worse faults and amplified blemishes when they put people under a microscope, you see it totally different, you see the beauty of the close up, the crispness of the definition. I think i might even say you do this with the world, not just people,good post even if it did take 2 pots of coffee! God bless-watw

What do you think?

