Our Weekend Off

EJ got a rare weekend off–both Saturday AND Sunday. The weather was great, cool in the mornings but reaching the low 70s during the day.

This morning EJ and I drove to the Boy Scout Camp to pick JJ up from his Order of the Arrow Ordeal. It was a very pretty drive through beautiful scenery. One of our favorite things to do is drive through pretty countryside and talk. EJ is my best friend.

JJ had a great time this weekend and met some new friends. The Order of the Arrow candidates worked hard at the camp and were inducted into the honor society with great ceremony. JJ told us all about it, but told us we can’t tell anyone about it. The society likes to keep a certain mystique about the Ordeal to make it special for the kids coming into it. Now JJ will have monthly Order of the Arrow meetings. When we picked him up at the camp this morning, I took the picture below of JJ wearing his new Order of the Arrow sash.

EJ and I used the good weather and days off this weekend to get firewood. We got a face cord of wood in Aunt Dolly Llama on Saturday, unloaded and stacked it, and then got another load. We unstacked the wood this afternoon, and got another load of wood, which we will unload and stack in another day or so. (FYI: A cord of wood is a stack that is four feet high, eight feet long, and four feet deep. A face cord is four feet high, eight feet long, and 1 foot–or one piece of wood–deep.) We now have four face cords of wood. We’d like to get 10 or 11 before winter so we don’t have to worry about running out. We have unloaded/stacked wood in pouring rain and in cold and snow. We had fun and laughed a lot while doing it, but it’s still preferrable to unload/stack wood in nice weather. We heat our house mostly with wood. Our house is very well insulated. I get cold easily, but I often wear T-shirts in the winter because it’s so toasty warm in our house.

When we got home, I took my Danny for a walk. He looks forward to it so much that I try not to disappoint him. It was very pleasant to walk. Tomorrow it’s supposed to rain, so there will be no chance for a walk. There are only two days of nice weather this week. I have to fit getting wood and doing laundry on those days. YIKES! Those will be busy days.

After all the loading and loading of firewood this weekend, I am tired and could use a nap. YAWN. It’s difficult to fit exercise into my day, but I always see physical work an opportunity to “kill two birds with one stone.” I can do a necessary task AND get exercise!

Now, I just have to stay awake long enough for my Hebrew class tonight…YAWN.

One thought on “Our Weekend Off

  1. thewomanatthewell says:

    I tried to post this- "lasterday" as my 4 year old says, I hope it works today. I wanted to let you know that I got a vision for you as a family, God says you are a lighthouse not just individual points of light(you are that too) but together you show people(the gentiles especially, like me) how to join together and be the shining house on a hill- a Lighthouse.Be blessed -watw

What do you think?

