Back to School

It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve written.

Mostly I haven’t written because I haven’t had much to say. Sometimes I have TONS to say, and it pours out of me so that I even write more than one post a day. Other times, I do not know what to write. It’s usually not because I have nothing I am thinking about, because I ponder life all the time, but it’s as if the  thoughts need to simmer for a while before I can serve them.

I also haven’t written because life got busy. We went to a farm market a couple weekends ago, and I bought a lot of green beans, which I froze. If I can’t grow green beans in the garden, it’s cheaper to buy them at the farm market than at the grocery store. I also picked and dried or froze peppers from the garden.

A couple weeks ago, the washer in my stackable washer/drier stopped working, so I have to take my clothes a block or so to the local laundromat to wash and then hang them on the clothesline to dry. Since I am reduced to doing laundry once a week, this is a lot of clothes and it takes a long time to get them on the line. My oven also broke, so I am cooking meals on the stove or crockpot. And my car desperately needs brakes, so I cannot drive it. This is a lot of bother and inconvenience, but until we can afford to replace these appliances–and find the time to go shopping when my husband has been working without a day off for months–I do what I must.

My son and I also started homeschool on Tuesday. It always takes a period of adjustment to get used to getting back to a school schedule. My morning starts at 6 a.m. I like the time to wake up slowly with a cup of coffee and the computer. I get up, make coffee, check Facebook, read my Bible, and get lunch in the crockpot, if necessary. When JJ wakes up, life speeds up: I fix breakfast, teach school, prepare lunch, and do a little house cleaning. After my husband leaves for work, I teach Hebrew, take my dog for a walk, finish cleaning the house, and do any extra tasks that need doing. Then it’s time for supper. When it’s laundry day, I take the clothes to the laundromat while EJ is teaching JJ, hang the clothes on the clothesline, fix lunch, do all the other chores, bring the clothes in, and spend the evening folding a mountain of clothes. By the end of the day, I am tired.

Although my son is a night owl, I am expecting him to get up at 7 a.m. this year so he can get some of the reading done. He always has several books to read (classical literature, historical fiction, etc.) that relates to the year’s studies. This year we are studying Civics/American Government. Our spiritual studies are about the case laws/Biblical laws in Exodus and whether Christians should be involved in politics/government. Thankfully, my husband is teaching physics and math this year. He’s so much better at those subjects than I am, and while I can figure stuff out, he knows them frontwards and backwards. He can calculate faster than a calculator. JJ has his writing class on-line, using a site that has real teachers that communicate with him and customize lessons for him. He also is writing a book, which gets very good reviews on a young writers’ website.

I enjoy history and Bible and writing, but my favorite subject is Hebrew. Last year we learned the alphabet/pronunciation and some vocabulary words. This year we are learning nouns, verbs, sentences, and more vocabulary words. I love learning Hebrew. It is a beautiful language filled with deep meaning, and it enhances my understanding of the Bible greatly. There are a lot of meaning and connections in Hebrew that we don’t get in English. For example, the word translated “peace” is “shalom,” Shalom just doesn’t mean absence of turmoil or conflict. It means peace, wholeness, well-being, completeness. So when Jesus (which in Hebrew is “Yeshua” meaning “salvation”) says that He gives us His peace…well, He means He is giving us wholeness, completeness, well-being, peace. How beautiful is that? Especially in a world in which people are spirit wounded? I never read the word “peace” in the Bible now, without thinking of all these meanings.

And the word for faith is “emunah” in Hebrew, which means faithfulness, firmness, steadfastness, fidelity. It comes from the root word “aman” which means to rest securely or rely upon. A person who really has faith will live a life of faithfulness and have firmness and steadfastness in his life.

The word “davar” means word or thing. I wondered how a word can mean two such totally different things, until I saw that at Creation God spoke things into being with His words, so there is a connection. And this connection caused me to ponder the power of words, and how we can speak things into being with our words….

I love Hebrew.

3 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. thewomanatthewell says:

    I love your blog, it was the first blog I found online that I wanted to link to my blog so people would find your voice and hear your heart. I enjoy your willingness to share your blessing of knowlege and wisdom, also thank you for your Hebrew4Christians. This place is awesome!Your road is beautifully unexpected.About your above posting, I read along thinking wow if I had half that much energy, but you know what I didn't hear was you complaining, You mentioned you were tired but that's hardly a complaint,I like that you endure and grow, I like that you share about how it is to be so busy and yet you don't seem to mind. Be blessed abundantly.- The Woman at the Well

  2. TJ says:

    This post has been removed by the author.

  3. TJ says:

    THANK YOU so much!For those who'd like to visit The Woman at the Well, her blog is here: http://thewomanatthewell.wordpress.com/?blogsub=confirmed#subscribe-blog

What do you think?

