Re-remembering Blessings

Today I re-remembered things about blessings that I had disremembered. I word it this way because I have realized that there are a lot of truths that I haven’t exactly forgotten, I just have temdisremembered them. And when I remember them, it’s not exactly like I am remembering them, it’s more like I am remembering them again. You know, RE-remembering them.

A few years ago, as I heard people say “God bless you” and “God bless America” and I got to pondering what we mean by it.

When we say “God bless you,” do we mean that we want God to give us wealth? Job success? Nice, safe, comfortable lives? Dreams come true? When we say, “God bless America,” do we mean we want God to make us a powerful country? A wealthy country? A safe country? An influential country?

Although there are exceptions, plenty of people have wealth, security, influence, job success, and comfortable lives and they are empty, shallow, and self-absorbed. Although there are exceptions, there are people who have nothing, who have suffered great pain, and yet they have deep faith, joy, peace, and contentment. Who, then, is the more blessed?

Did you ever consider that the true blessing might be spiritual and not physical? And that perhaps the best way to gain spiritual blessings is to suffer deeply. A.W. Tozer wrote, “It is doubtful whether God can bless a man greatly until He has hurt him deeply.” When praying that God will bless a person(s) you might be actually asking Him to truly bless him, in the deepest sense, even if it means great trouble, heartache, pain, suffering, loss.

Since I pondered what blessing really means, I do not say “God bless you” lightly. I say and pray it with great awareness, in the deepest sense, knowing that though the blessings will be awesome, they also may very likely be costly.

What do you think?

