Even If We Don’t Go…

It’s really exciting–but also scarey–thinking about living full-time in an RV. Can we really do this? Do we really want to? I don’t know.

I feel the way that I did when my husband first told me about his desire to homeschool. I had never heard of such a thing. It sounded sort of crazy, and I didn’t know if we could do it. When our son was born, and it neared the time to begin his first year of school, I alternated between excitement and terror. The closer it got to the beginning of school, the more terror I felt. “I CANNOT do this!” I cried, and I almost quit before I got started. But school began, and I homeschooled, and now our son is 16 years old, and I have taught him to read and write and learn. I’m even teaching him HEBREW, for goodness sakes.

In the same way, I alternate between excitement at RVing full-time, and terror. Maybe I can follow our dreams like I could homeschool and learn Hebrew. Maybe. Maybe?

One thing I was pondering is that even if we don’t end up RVing full-time, just considering the possibility of doing it has already begun changing us in profound ways. It’s sort of amazing.

For example, I sat in my living room the other day, looking at all my stuff. If we lived in an RV, I couldn’t take it all with me. I’d have to get rid of most of it. I could only keep a few very special things. I pondered which things would I keep and which things I would get rid of. What I concluded is that most of our stuff isn’t worth hanging on to. We have things in our closets that we have forgotten were there, clothes we haven’t worn for a long time. Books are our treasures, and we have a LOT of them, but many of them I could get rid of and, if I want to read them, I could get a Kindle or somethings.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=unexpturns-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0983099901&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrConsidering my stuff has made me think of a story I read years ago called How Much Land Does a Man Need? It’s a story about a man who accumulated more and more land and it ended up killing him. How much stuff do we really need? Even if we don’t go RVing full-time, I will simplify and down-size my life.

Considering our lives and the possibilities of RVing full-time has also caused us to ask, discuss, and ponder the meaning and purpose of our lives. We understand that our purpose is to serve, worship, and enjoy God forever, but we are asking ourselves exactly what that means. The wise, responsible thing to do would seem to be to work at a well-paying job, to own a house, to go to church, to raise your children–not sell everything and live in an RV. But is going to school so you can get into a good college, so you can get a job, so you can buy a house, so you can fill it with stuff you don’t need REALLY what life is all about? Or is life supposed to be something more? I don’t think we ought to live a selfish, self-indulgent life, but I’m not sure we ought to live a life in which we are afraid to change or risk either. Is it more glorifying to God to settle into a life of obligation or to risk LIVING and enjoy the life He gave us? Is miserable security more valuable than the risk of change? These are the types of questions we are asking ourselves.

Considering the possibilities has also changed EJ. The economy where we live is very bad. Many people in our area our losing their jobs and homes. Lots of people in EJ’s company have been fired or laid off. We have kept saying, “Well, at least you have a job.” Tonight, EJ’s boss’s boss told him that he could see that he was struggling and he asked what it was about. In the past, EJ might have just said little, not wanting to make waves, not wanting to risk losing his job. However, filled with a new boldness because of the possibilities opening before us, he said exactly what was wrong: He said that he was raised to work hard and not complain, and that he knew that, in this economy, he was fortunate to have a job–and that he was thankful for it. However, he is struggling with his health and he felt his education and skills were being wasted by the menial tasks they were having . The boss agreed and said something about the possibility of making EJ a team leader again. EJ said he was trained as a CNC Machinist and that’s what he preferred to do. It will be interesting to see what happens next.

The interesting thing is that whether we go RVing full-time or not, WE are being changed. We are asking deep questions, we are opening ourselves up to possibilities, we are willing to take risk. Who knows where that will lead?

What do you think?

